Jannah Theme License is not validated, Go to the theme options page to validate the license, You need a single license for each domain name.

Al Wakra City receives the UNESCO Learning City Award 2021

Doha: The city of Al Wakra received the UNESCO Learning City Award for 2021. With nearly 90,000 inhabitants, Al Wakra has provided outstanding opportunities for lifelong learning.

In conjunction with the opening of the fifth International Conference on Learning Cities in the Republic of Korea, the award was announced on Twitter by the UNESCO Institute for Lifelong Learning (UIL). A jury of independent international experts selected the ten cities that were honoured in this year’s Learning City Award.

“On behalf of the UNESCO Doha office’s Director, Dr Anna Paolini and the whole team in the Doha office, I would like to congratulate the municipality of Al Wakra city, represented by Mansour Al Boenain Mayor of Al Wakra Municipality and the entire population of Al Wakra for this award.” said a UNESCO official.

“I would also like to thank the UNESCO Chair Dr Ziyad Said in the College of North Atlantic Qatar for having supported the overall application process,” he stated.

“Congratulations to Al Wakra on winning the 2021 UNESCO Learning City Award for outstanding progress in #lifelonglearning. The city has made lifelong learning a priority as part of its sustainability plan, with a focus on vulnerable groups.” UIL tweeted this statement on October 27.

Al Wakra’s sustainability action plan and long-term goal of becoming a sustainable city were also recognized at this year’s UNESCO Learning City Award. Al Wakra’s environmental initiatives, culminating in its celebration of the city’s Environmental Day on 26 February, were also recognized.
Al Wakra’s leadership in education and commitment to Education for Sustainable Development (ESD) were also discussed. In addition, Al Wakra oversees several initiatives that provide special-needs students with free education. Furthermore, women and the elderly are given special attention by the city in terms of lifelong opportunities.

The cities awarded include Belfast (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland), Clermont-Ferrand (France), Damietta (Egypt), Dublin (Ireland), Huejotzingo, (Mexico), Jubail Industrial City (Saudi Arabia), Osan (Republic of Korea), Shanghai (People’s Republic of China), and Wyndham (Australia).

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker